Arizona - To Renew vehicle Registration
According to Arizona state law, you must register every vehicle you plan to drive or park on public roads and you need to renew your vehicle registration before it expires. You can renew vehicle registration by following the below procedure.
If you have valid registered motor vehicle you can renew your motor vehicle registration before it expires.
- The MVD sends out a notice as your renewal deadline approaches. If you don't receive one through the mail, you can simply use your current registration certificate as your renewal application.
- Your renewal notice contains all the information you need to register your car, including total taxes and fees owed, whether your vehicle must pass an emissions test, and identification information for your vehicle.
- You can renew your vehicle registration online.
- You can also renew your registration by phone, using our 24-hour, automated, toll-free service at 888 713-3031 Please have your renewal notice or registration (current or expired); Visa, Mastercard, Discover or American Express credit card and a pen or pencil ready.
- Some registration are due at the end of the month, others are due on the 15th of the month. Check your renewal notice or current registration to see which due date applies to your vehicle.
- Early Renewal: If an emission test is not required you may renew up to six months before the expiration. If an emissions test is required, you may renew your registration up to three months before the expiration by showing your current registration at the test station.
- Last Minute Renewal: You will not be charged a penalty fee, as long as your mail-in payment is postmarked (or online or phone renewal is completed) on or before the due date.
- Late Fees
- If payment was due on the last day of the month, and was paid late, but on or before the last day of the next month (or if due on the 15th, and paid on or before the 15th of the next month), add $8 for late fees. For each additional month past the due date, add $4 more.
- If your vehicle fails the initial or any subsequent emissions test you will not be charged a penalty fee for late registration renewal if the original test was before the registration expiration date and the registration renewal is postmarked (or Internet or phone renewal is completed) within 30 days of the original test.
- If you do not receive a renewal notice before the registration expires for your vehicle, you must still renew by the expiration date.
- A $25 fee is charged for any check returned by a financial institution, and may result in cancellation of vehicle registrations and driving privileges.
- Two or Five Year Registration: Vehicles receiving only the "Basic" emissions test and out-of-state exemptions are not eligible for a two-year or five-year renewal.
- Out-Of-State Renewals: If you are temporarily out of state and require a vehicle emissions test, visit the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality website or call Phoenix 602-771-3950 or Tucson 520-628-5651.
- Emissions Test Results: Emissions test results are immediately sent electronically to MVD, it is not necessary to wait after completing your emissions test before renewing online or by phone.
- Emissions Test May Be Required
- If the comment on the front of your registration renewal notice reads, "No Emissions Test Required", it is based on your address on file and your vehicle year. However, an emissions test may still be required if your vehicle is used to commute into an Air Quality Control area (including greater metro Phoenix and Tucson). For more information contact the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality toll free 877-692-9227 (877-myazcar) or www.myazcar.com.
- You may also choose to have an emissions test due to warranty limitations on emissions components.
- Date of Birth
- Driver License Number
- Mailing/Residential address
- Vehicle Identification Number
- Vehicle registration Number
- Registration expiry date
- Renew Online
- If applicable, make sure your vehicle passes the emissions test. Because the MVD receives the testing information electronically, you don't need to have a certificate on hand when renewing.
- Have your renewal notice handy. If you didn't receive a renewal notice, you can use your current registration certificate.
- Be prepared to pay applicable fees with a Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover credit card or debit card.
- Sign on to EZ Renewal and follow the steps as directed.
- You'll receive your updated registration certificate and tabs at the address on the renewal notice within five business days.
- In Person
- Handle any required emissions test. You don't have to present a certificate, because the MVD receives the results electronically.
- Have your renewal notice or registration certificate handy.
- Have the required fees in an acceptable form. The MVD accepts personal checks, money orders, and cash, as well as Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover credit cards or debit cards.
- Visit your local MVD office. No appointment is necessary.
- By Mail
- Bring your vehicle in for an emissions test, if applicable. The MVD receives the results, so don't worry about presenting a certificate when you renew.
- Use the envelope attached to your renewal notice to send in your notice and payment. If you didn't receive a renewal notice, you can use your current registration certificate instead.
- Mail your renewal notice and a check or money order for applicable fees to:
- Motor Vehicle Division
- 4005 N. 51st Ave.
- Phoenix, AZ 85031-2688
- By Phone
- If applicable, have your vehicle's emissions tested. The MVD will receive the results electronically.
- Have your renewal notice or registration handy, as well as a writing utensil.
- Be prepared to pay the required fees with a Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover credit card or debit card.
- Call (888) 713-3031. The automated service is available 24 hours a day.
Ads by Google
- Valid Identity
- Vehicle registration certificate
Follow link for list of required primary and secondary documents http://mvd.azdot.gov/mvd/formsandpub/viewPDF.asp?lngProductKey=1410&lngFormInfoKey=1410
- You need two documents (follow link for list) - one must have a clear photo of you.
- Or 3 documents (follow link for list) with no photo
- One must listed under primary
- All Must be originals or copies, in English, certified by the issuing agency
- Additional documents needed for a name change (like Marriage certificate, Divorce certificate) you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration.
- The state has a flat registration fee of $8 per year, but the real charges come in the form of the vehicle license tax (VLT). The VLT is figured based on the value of your vehicle, so it varies year to year. The state also charges an air quality research tax of $1.50, and various fees for specialized or personalized license plates.
- If you have not received a renewal notice in the mail and plan to use your current registration certificate as your renewal application, call the MVD at one of the following numbers to find out the total amount you owe:
- Phoenix: (602) 255-0072
- Tucson: (520) 629-9808
- All other AZ regions: (800) 251-5866
- Another fee related to all registered vehicles is the insurance payment. Although you don't need to show proof of insurance when you renew your registration, you do need to have it. The MVD receives electronic notification about the insurance policies of drivers, and will cancel your registration if your policy lapses.
Explain the time until which the certificate/document is valid. e.g. Birth Certificate Valid Forever
Please attach documents which can be used by people who would like to follow this procedure.
Please attach sample completed documents which would help other people who would like to follow this procedure.
Please explain the processing your application.
- Mailing address
Motor Vehicle Division
4005 N. 51st Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85031-2688
- Phoenix: 602-255-0072
- Tucson: 520-629-9808
- Elsewhere in Arizona: 800-251-5866
- Monday – Friday (except on state holidays)
- 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
- (Customers on hold by 4:30 pm will be served.)
- Hearing/Speech Impaired TDD Phoenix 602-712-3222
- Hearing/Speech Impaired TDD Elsewhere 800-324-5425
- Office contact address
Ads by Google
Videos explaining the procedure or to fill the applications.
Enter other informations which might help
Please explain what are other uses of obtaining this document/certificate. e.g. Birth Certificate can be used as proof of identity.
- Arizona Department of Transportation
- Identification Requirements
- Office Locations and Hours
Ads by Google
More information which might help people.